20% Off
 Limited Period Offer


To recognize the candidate investment in ITIL qualifications and endorsed Complementary Qualifications, a credit system has been introduced to support the ITIL scheme. Within the ITIL Credit System, all ITIL and ITIL related qualifications have been assigned with a specific credit value, based upon the content of ITIL material which is covered by the qualification. Upon successful completion of any ITIL examination recognized under the scheme, a candidate will be rewarded with both the certification and the attributed credits. The credits earned through this Credit System can then be used by candidates who are interested in achieving the ITIL Expert Level of certification, which requires candidates to meet a specific set of key requirements, which include earning a required number of credits (22) from qualifications which cover the full spectrum of ITIL Best Practice.


Full details of these conflicts can be found on the ITIL Credit Administration Policy page. When working towards ITIL Expert level, all candidates should be aware of the rules pertaining to combinations of ITIL qualifications and resulting credits which can or cannot be used together when applying for ITIL Expert.


Some earlier ITIL certificates, namely the ITIL Service Manager and ITIL Practitioner qualifications, can be used to enter the current qualifications scheme.


The result of this assessment was the introduction of an ITIL Credit Administration Policy which provides rules and recommendations to candidates on which ITIL certification combinations can or cannot be used together in ITIL Expert applications. Areas of the ITIL Credit System were recently reviewed in order to improve guidance for candidates whose certification goal is ITIL Expert Level, and better steer candidates towards selecting a balanced portfolio of qualifications.


Based on the percentage of duplicate ITIL content present between specific combinations of ITIL certifications, the following three degrees of overlap have been identified – low, moderate or high:
Low Degree of Overlap – 0-19%
It is worth noting that candidates who select modules towards Expert within range will benefit from strengthened ITIL knowledge that will help them to succeed in passing the ITIL® Managing Across the Lifecycle Qualification, which is a key requirement for reaching Expert Level. Modules which fall into this degree of overlap have little or no content overlap, and cover different areas or aspects of the ITIL Best Practice guidance. Candidates who select modules within this range are permitted to use both certifications and the credits earned together in their Expert application.
Moderate Degree of Overlap – 20-39%
Modules which fall into this range cover a moderate percentage of similar ITIL content. This degree of overlap is most consistently seen between the Lifecycle and Capability qualifications, where the same processes and functions are resident in both, but are covered to different depths of detail. Candidates should avoid taking Intermediate modules in this range and are strongly encouraged to build a certification portfolio which cover as many ITIL disciplines as possible. However, those who study for and pass certifications in this range will be permitted to submit both certifications and credits earned together in their Expert application.
High Degree of Overlap – 40%
This range of content overlap is considered significant enough to compromise a balanced knowledge base of the full ITIL Intermediate module spectrum. It is currently only found between certain combinations of Practitioner and Intermediate qualifications. Candidates must not take certifications in this range as only one qualification and set of credits from the module combinations in this range can be used in an ITIL Expert level application. All potential Expert candidates should be aware of this policy when selecting Intermediate modules, particularly those who hold ITIL certifications from earlier versions.