20% Off
 Limited Period Offer

How to Get Scrum Master Certification

Blog   |    23rd September 2022   |   Rupali

CSM Certification Cost in India


Scrum is an Agile methodology that has been gaining popularity in the business world as it can foster innovation and increase efficiency. A high-performing Scrum team is desirable for an institution for an Agile project’s success, while a Scrum Master ensures to lead the project in the right direction. In short, Scrum Master Training provides you with the skills to successfully deploy the Scrum methodology in a business.

The duty of the Scrum Master includes facilitating and teaching Scrum practices to each team member involved in the project, clearing impediments for the team, and ensuring that Scrum processes are being rightly followed.

Scrum Master Certification

A CSM Certification is important for an individual who is planning to work in that role. This certification has become a baseline for employers, just like a bachelor's degree. CSM Training covers topics that range from the fundamental of Scrum, Scrum accountabilities, and topics beyond the Scrum framework. This certification is highly respected among organizations as it is based on Scrum competencies and not just simply on attendance.

How to Get Scrum Master Certification?

To obtain Certified Scrum Master Certification you have to pass the exam and get a score of 74% or higher. This course has no specific prerequisites, and may be taken by any individual who wants to:

  • Develop their project management skills
  •  Improve their knowledge of Scrum

This exam format is multiple choice with 50 questions, based on CSM Learning Objectives. You get 60 minutes to answer and can take your exam online. The passing score is 74%, and there are no negative marks for wrong answers.

Once registered, you will receive a welcome email from Scrum Alliance containing the account activation link. After you have activated your account, you will have 90 days to complete the CSM test. Candidates are offered two free attempts to pass this test. In case you are not able to qualify for the exam in your first two attempts in 90 days, then you can reappear by paying an additional fee.

Steps to Become a Certified Scrum Master

You need to undergo the following steps to become to earn your Scrum Master Certification:

Step 1: Familiarize yourself with Scrum and complete the prerequisites for attending the CSM course.

Step 2: Choose a Certified Scrum Master Training course from an accredited training institute like Knowlathon. Confirm that the training is provided by Certified Scrum Trainers only.

Step 3: After the training, pass the CSM exam by answering at least 37 of 50 questions.

Before you attend a CSM course, it is recommended to make you familiarize yourself with Scrum theory and principles. A good training institute like Knowlathon usually begins the course with a short quiz that you need to complete. This quiz helps validate that you are ready to start the CSM training process.

Consider going through the Scrum Foundation eLearning Series of videos that guides you through the principles of Scrum Theory, Scrum Roles, Scrum Events, and Scrum Artifacts. You can also download and read the official Scrum Guide to make yourself familiar with the Agile Manifesto. Completing these formalities is the part of prerequisites and is essential if you want to clear your exam on your first go.


  •  You can access the CSM test only after taking training for the approved course from a Certified Scrum Trainer (CST) from Scrum Alliance or receive one-on-one coaching from Certified Agile Coach (CAC). Knowlathon offers candidates training from the most experienced and certified trainers to help you pass your CSM exam on your first attempt.
  • Get 14 hours of online or 16 hours of in-person training with a CST, or 25 hours of interaction with CAC.

Scrum Master Certification Options

There are several options for Scrum Master Certifications. The most common of these is the Certified Scrum Master or CSM, which is an entry-level certification. Other certifications available are Professional Scrum Master (PSM). Or the Agile Certified Practitioner (ACP), SAFe Scrum Master, etc.

The type of Scrum Master Certification depends a lot on your type of role in an organization. It also depends on what your prospective employee prefers. For example, if you are a project manager and your organization is looking toward agility, then Agile Certification will be the obvious choice.

Scrum Master Training from Knowlathon

Knowlathon offers one of the best-accredited e-learning online training programs. This self-paced learning allows you to learn from anywhere, including your office or home. Knowlathon provides you with various mock papers to help you get acquainted with your exam, and understand the type of questions you will face during the exam.

Choose from virtual instructor-led training, classroom training, or corporate training options from Knowlathon, get authorized study material from Scrum Alliance, and earn your certification on the very first attempt.